Happy Birthday Mr.Gould in partnership with The Glenn Gould Foundation

537 Views 0 Comment

We are happy to celebrate the 85th birthday of @Glenn Gould on the event D Major presents: “Happy Birthday Mr.Gould” in partnership with The Glenn Gould Foundation on 25th september ONLY LIVE MENTIONS on D Major TV!

The Glenn Gould Foundation is a registered Canadian charitable organization based in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Friends, colleagues and admirers of the celebrated Canadian pianist Glenn Gould established the Foundation in 1983 after his death on October 4, 1982 at age 50.

Its directors and supporters include many prominent Canadian and International cultural leaders and patrons, as well as Gould’s personal friends.

The Foundation encourages others to develop projects that celebrate Glenn Gould and the field of music and communications. In this way, the Foundation has been associated with numerous broadcasts, publications, exhibitions, and conferences in Canada and abroad.

Brian Levine
Executive Director of The Glenn Gould Foundationwill be with us on D Major presents: “Happy Birthday Mr.Gould”!
Since 2007, Brian Levine has been providing dynamic leadership and a new strategic vision to repositioning the organization and its signature project, The Glenn Gould Prize, as a leading world-level arts institution. He was co-founder of The Dorian Group, Ltd., a leading independent classical and world music label. A native of Toronto, Brian was educated at University College and University of Toronto Faculty of Law.
In January 2013, Brian was awarded a Diamond Jubilee Medal from The Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada and The Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario. The Medal honoured Brian’s achievements in music education for children and building The Glenn Gould Foundation into an internationally-known arts organization.



Created by The Glenn Gould Foundation, the Glenn Gould Prize is an international lifetime achievement award in the arts and communications. It is awarded every three years to a living individual, in recognition of his/her contributions to music and communication.

An international jury of distinguished musicians, journalists, arts patrons, and music aficionados selects the prize Laureate.

Laureates receive a cash award of C$50,000 and are charged with selecting the recipient of the City of Toronto Glenn Gould Protégé Prize.

A prize presentation ceremony and gala concert are held in Toronto in celebration.

A portrait of each Laureate is added to a permanent collection of photographs, on display in the lower lobby of the Glenn Gould Studio at the Canadian Broadcasting Centre in Toronto.


2015 Philip Glass
2013 Robert Lepage
2011 Leonard Cohen
2008 José Antonio Abreu
2005 André Previn
2002 Pierre Boulez
1999 Yo-Yo Ma
1996 Toru Takemitsu
1993 Oscar Peterson
1990 Yehudi Menuhin
1987 R. Murray Schafer




Leave a Comment